Show of Hands ‘Special Relationship’ Spring Tour

Categories: Music | News

Show of Hands hit the road with a very ‘Special Relationship’ in spring 2019.

Steve Knightley and Phil Beer, aka the award-winning acoustic roots duo Show of Hands, are back on the road again, and they’re bringing a friend! For their 2019 spring tour, Knightley and Beer are joined by long-term friend and collaborator Richard Shindell to celebrate their very own transatlantic ‘Special Relationship’. This is a rare chance to sit back and enjoy the sounds of three sublime musical innovators, each at the top of their game.

Hailing from New Jersey and now a resident of Buenos Aires, Richard writes flawless, vivid songs that paint pictures and tell stories. ‘You Stay Here’, ‘Reunion Hill’ and ‘Next Best Western’ have long been firm favourites in the Show of Hands repertoire, so when Richard joins Phil and Steve to perform these classics live it will be nothing short of extraordinary. Loyal Show of Hands fans will need no introduction to Shindell, but for the uninitiated several of Richard’s songs have been covered by Joan Baez, leading him to tour with her. Richard has also appeared at the Royal Albert Hall as Steve and Phil’s special guest.

Steve says, “We’re really excited about Richard joining us on stage in spring. As well as his solo set we’ll be inviting him to join us to perform some of his best-loved songs, and some of ours too. This will be a very special transatlantic-themed evening spent sharing music and stories.”

The set list includes a rich and diverse blend of music from both sides of the pond, juxtaposing British roots with bluegrass, and sea songs with blues. From the Great War to the Civil War, from Bristol to Baltimore, expect a moving Anglo/American exchange of songs of the road, history and romance.

Tour dates are as follows

VENUE DATE WEBSITE TELEPHONE
Thornbury Festival, Bristol Thu 2 May 19 https://thornburyartsfestival.org.uk 07762 717310
Royal Hippodrome, Eastbourne Fri 3 May 19 www.royalhippodrome.com 01323 802020
St Dunstans Church, Cranbrook Sat 4 May 19 www.stedithfolk.co.uk n/a
Cutty Sark, Greenwich Mon 6 May 19 www.rmg.co.uk/cutty-sark/theatre 0208 312 6608
Tivoli Theatre, Wimborne Wed 8 May 19 www.tivoliwimborne.co.uk 01202 885566
Farnham Maltings, Surrey Thu 9 May 19 www.farnhammaltings.com 01252 745444
St Laurence’s Church, Ludlow Fri 10 May 19 www.ludlowassemblyrooms.co.uk 01584 878141
Memorial Hall, Marlborough Sat 11 May 19 www.marlboroughfolk-roots.co.uk 01672 512465
Exeter Corn Exchange Wed 15 May 19 www.exetercornexchange.co.uk 01392 665938
Fowey Festival of Arts and Literature Thu 16 May 19 www.foweyfestival.com 01726 879500
Minack Theatre, Penzance Fri 17 May 19 www.minack.com 01736 810181
Carnglaze , Liskeard Sat 18 May 19 www.carnglaze.com 01579 320251
RHS Rosemoor, Torrington Sun 19 May 19 www.theploughartscentre.org.uk 01805 624624
Floral Pavilion Theatre, New Brighton Tue 21 May 19 www.floralpavillion.com 0151 666 0000
Arc, Stockton-on-Tees Wed 22 May 19 www.arconline.co.uk 01642 525199
The Civic, Barnsley Thu 23 May 19 www.barnsleycivic.co.uk 01226 327000
The Stables, Milton Keynes Fri 24 May 19 www.stables.org.uk 01908 280800

Tickets available here https://www.showofhands.co.uk/show-of-hands-2019-dates

For everything else SOH visit https://www.showofhands.co.uk