Bush Gothic New Album and UK tour

Categories: Music | News

Bush Gothic

Bush Gothic are band leader Jenny M. Thomas  together with double bassist Dan Witton and drummer Chris Lewis, they are touring the UK to celebrate the release of their new album The Natural Selection Australian Songbook. All three members of the band have toured the world with a long list of internationally acclaimed music and theatre ensembles including Circus Oz and The Australian Opera but this is the first time they bring Bush Gothic to England.

Rattled by the bones of convicts and steeped in campfire smoke, Bush Gothic perform darker, stranger Australian folk. Defiantly modern, achingly old, this most daring of Australian bush bands perform songs of criminal women and desperate men from an era of transportation, adventure and gold.

The Natural Selection Australian Song Book was first conceived when the band were artists in residence at the historic Fryerstown School in Victoria, site of the 1853 gold rush.

Lurking in the goldfields and cemeteries, Jenny M. Thomas dragged out the old songbooks, ripped them apart and then lovingly put them back together, establishing herself as the anti-rebel of the Australian folk scene – a musician not needing to rebel against her own heritage.

www.bushgothic.com.au

The Natural Selection Australian Songbook tour

LONDON Fri Aug 19 Campfire Club – The Nest Collective

ASHFORD Sat Aug 20 Revelation St. Mary’s, Kent

OXFORD  Sun Aug 21 The Jericho Tavern

BRISTOL Tue Aug 23 The Canteen

STROUD Thu Aug 25 The Prince Albert

CORSHAM Fri Aug 26 Pound Arts Centre, Wiltshire

LONDON Sat Aug 27 The Slaughtered Lamb, Clerkenwell

SHAMBLE FESTIVAL Sun Aug 28

SHEFFIELD Thu Sep 1 Hagglers Corner, South Yorkshire

OFF THE TRACKS Fri Sep 2, Derbyshire

FESTIVAL No. 6  Sep 3 – 4 Portmeirion Village, Wales