Spring 2018 tour dates announced for Jon Boden solo and Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings

Categories: Music | News

In the wake of his critically acclaimed album ‘Afterglow’ (Hudson Records), released October ’17, Jon Boden has announced new live dates for Spring 2018.

The multi-BBC Folk Award winning artist, Jon Boden has become woven into the fabric of the English folk scene having established his name first as one half of Spiers & Boden and then for his role as frontman for one of the most successful English folk bands ever, Bellowhead, who racked up a quarter of a million album sales and seven singles on the Radio 2 playlist over twelve years which saw them play the BBC Proms in The Park, Glastonbury, The Royal Albert Hall and more across worldwide sell out tours.

Now flexing his musical muscles in his own right, Boden has delivered an album and a new eleven-piece big band, Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings – which includes fellow Bellowheaders Sam Sweeney and Paul Sartin along with Leveret’s Rob Harbron and Ben Nicholls andRichard Warren from Kings Of The South Seas plus brass and strings sections – which is attracting media attention, including a Radio 2 playlist slot for the first single from the album ‘All The Stars Are Coming Out Tonight‘, and generating ecstatic audience reactions.

‘Afterglow’ is a narrative album, telling a love story which weaves throughout a nighttime carnival of fire – it draws audiences into an atmospheric setting of barrel fires and star light, which at the live shows are accentuated by ambitious lighting designed by Emma Thompson to pick up the themes of light and dark which run throughout ‘Afterglow’.

“The genre-busting folk artist he’s always been” – The Guardian

Jon Boden solo dates:

April 2018:

Tues 17th | Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon / 01874 611 622 / brycheiniog.co.uk

Weds 18th | Pontio, Bangor / 01248 38 28 28 / pontio.co.uk

Thurs 19t | Canolfan y Celfyddydau Aberystwyth Arts Centre / 01970 62 32 32 / aberystwythartscentre.co.uk

Fri 20th | Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea / 01792 602 060 / taliesinartscentre.co.uk

Sat 21st | The Brewhouse, Taunton / 01823 283 244 / thebrewhouse.net

Sun 22nd | The Stables, Milton Keynes / 01908 280 800 / stables.org

Mon 23rd | New Vic Theatre, Newcastle-under-Lyme / 01782 717 962 / newvictheatre.org.uk

Tues 24th | Guildhall Arts Centre, Grantham / 01476 406 158 / guildhallartscentre.com

Weds 25th | The Apex, Bury St. Edmunds / 01284 758 000 / theapex.co.uk 

“Its elaborate arrangements, stop-start rhythms and melodramatic vocals recalling Gabriel-era Genesis with a dash of Bush and Bowie” – The Observer

 

 

 

 

 

Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings dates: 

April 2018 

Fri 27th | Victoria Hall, Saltaire / 01274 588 614 / saltairelive.co.uk

Sat 28th | The Winding Wheel, Chesterfield / 01246 345 222 / Ticket Hotline 01773 853428 / chesterfieldtheatres.co.uk

Sun 29th | Vivacity Key Theatre, Peterborough / 01733 207 239 / vivacity-peterborough.com

Mon 30th | Civic Theatre, Chelmsford / 01245 606 505 / chelmsford.gov.uk/theatres

May 2018 

Tues 1st | The Brook, Southampton / 02380 555 366 / the-brook.com

Weds 2nd | Cheltenham Town Hall / 0844 576 2210 / cheltenhamtownhall.org.uk

Thurs 3rd | Hall for Cornwall, Truro / 01872 262 466 / hallforcornwall.co.uk

Fri 4th | Colston Hall, Bristol / 0117 203 4040 / www.colstonhall.org

Sat 5th | Exeter Phoenix / 01392 667 080 / exeterphoenix.org.uk

Sun 6th | Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury / 01743 281281 / theatresevern.co.uk

For more information visit https://www.jonboden.com/